Reese News Lab students take three awards in AEJMC Best of the Web

Aug 28 2012

August 11, 2012

Three projects won three Association of Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) Best of the Web awards, announced during the 2012 AEJMC convention held in Chicago.

Rebecca Seawell, Sam Ward, Kristen Long and Alena Oakes — 2011 UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication graduates — won first place in the team innovation category for “The Struggle for a Neighborhood,” a multimedia project that examines the gentrification of the Northside community in Chapel Hill.

Andrew Dye and Kelly Wollman — 2012 graduates of the school — and Kat Styons, a 2012 UNC information science graduate, took third place in the team innovation category for their Carrier Classic interactive scoreboard, a slideshow presentation of the 2011 UNC vs. Michigan State basketball game played on the USS Carl Vinson aircraft carrier. The slideshow is presented chronologically with an accompanying game clock and scoreboard.

Wollman also won third place in the individual innovation category with “What’s on your plate at the dining hall?,” an interactive piece that lets users choose a meal and compare it to daily recommendations from the USDA.

The Best of the Web competition is an annual website design contest for AEJMC members. There are two main categories — journalism and innovation — in which either individual or team entries may be submitted. Entries are judged by Web design professionals and academics with a background in Web technology. The competition is offered as a collaboration between the Communication Technology and Visual Communication divisions of AEJMC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.