Lab staff honored in journalism school award ceremony

Apr 24 2013

The UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication honored high-achieving students at an awards ceremony on April 22. Among the students recognized were 11 Reese News Lab staffers and alumni.

The following current and former Reese News Lab students earned honors.

O.J. “Skipper” Coffin Award to the Outstanding Graduating Senior in News-Editorial Journalism
Alex Barinka (managing editor, 2012-2013 school year, staffer since 2010)

Stuart Sechriest Award to the Outstanding Graduating Senior in Visual Communication
Julia Wall (photographer/videographer, 2012)

Phi Beta Kappa inductee
Keren Goldshlager (marketing manager, 2012-2013)

Kappa Tau Alpha inductee
Kathryn Carlson (photographer/videographer, 2011-2012)

Jon Witherspoon Scholarship
Colleen McEnaney (developer, summer 2012)

Bob Quincy Scholarship
Samantha Harrington (reporter, 2012)

F. Weston Fenhagen Scholarship
Daniela Madriz (designer, 2012-2013)

Larry and Carolyn Keith Awards in Sports Journalism
Eric Pait (photographer, 2011-2012)

Maxwell Graduate Scholarship in Medical Journalism
Courtni Kopietz (reporter, 2012-2013)

Tom Wicker Award
Nick Shchetko (reporter, 2012-2013)

William Francis Clingman Jr. Ethics Awards
Nick Shchetko (reporter, 2012-2013)
Caitlin Kleiboer (photographer/videographer, 2012-2013)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.